It’s a zoo out there.

Given that we’re all there for the same purpose, I find it surprising how often guys defensively offer their reasons for speed dating. I would never be so tacky as to ask, but I’m often told how tired they are of the bar pickup scene. Some of them, however, don’t seem to have updated their game to account for the fact that it’s not 2 a.m. and we’re not drunk.

“We” would include my two friends who recently joined me at a speed dating event. It’s great to have company while speed dating; the only potential issue is that you could both like the same guy. Being responsible adults, we agreed beforehand to a solution if that happened– a catfight.

Anyway, my two friends did match with the same guy, but were OK with both dating him a little before scheduling the fight (and yes, of course, I would have posted pictures for you, dear reader). The three of us recently caught up on the situation by email. Friend #1 reported:

>Did you ever hang out with him?  He texted me a few weeks ago but I said I was busy.  He then texted me that he wanted to meet up so he could pleasure me.

Then Friend #2 replied:

>That’s hilarious! He did basically the same thing to me.

Except that in her case, he got a bit more graphic. Since this is a family blog (in the sense that my whole family is reading it), I won’t repeat his exact text, but it may have involved a synonym for cat. As Friend #2 put it, “classy, huh?”

There wasn’t going to be any clawing each other over this dog.

One thought on “It’s a zoo out there.

Leave a Reply

