You’ve got to know when to hold ’em

It should be pretty easy to talk to a girl for five minutes without revealing a lot of damaging personal info about yourself. But this monologue, to which one of my speed dating friends was recently treated, proves otherwise. Having speed dated the offender twice myself, I can confirm that this is typical of him.

She asked, “What do you like to do?”

He answered, “Well, I like to drink a lot but I just bought a house so I don’t have money to spend on drinking, which is a bummer. The money’s going into work on the house, so for now, I’m still living in my parents’ basement. But it’s actually a good thing that I don’t have money so that I can’t gamble too much anymore. I do still buy scratch-off tickets, because I don’t really think that’s gambling. Do you?”

I’d guess bluffing wasn’t the main skill that he brought to the table back in his gambling days.

3 thoughts on “You’ve got to know when to hold ’em

  1. Any man who gambles/used to gamble/misses the fact that he had to grow up and stop gambling isn’t worthy of the 5 minutes he gets during the speed date.

    P.S. – Love the blog and the idea. I’m debating tackling speed dating as well. Done the online thing, met some people and even a boyfriend. But none of that lasted and at this point, I’ll try anything 😉

  2. …” It’s not cheap getting all that work done either, most of the money is going on insulating the loft so that the police can’t use infra red cameras to spot my cannabis farm. I can’t go back to prison again, with my record I’d go down for life this time. By the way are you cool if I borrow your clothes some weekends and you call me Brenda?”

    Things can always get worse 🙂

  3. Oivey! If a guy went on saying all those things to me, I wouldn’t give him the time of the day. I can’t kick him while he’s already down though. Kindly excuse myself and hope his vices don’t get the best of him. I rather him spill his beans in the first 10 mins of our speed date then on the 5th date.

Leave a Reply

