Talking to brick wall, or a flat screen

For the past several years, my job has involved interviewing people over the phone. The upshot is that I’ve become pretty skilled at pulling conversation out of anyone who is not entirely comatose (and one doctor who called me after a night shift almost crossed that barrier).

But this first date was testing my ability. Clearly, he was alive, or had been when he asked me out that afternoon. Yet he had nothing to say. His answers were monosyllabic and he offered almost no questions. I had gotten to the point of stream-of-consciousness babbling (really– I was talking about my old roommate’s boyfriend’s dirty socks) when I discovered the problem.

“Whoa, what was that score?” he asked.

“Hunh?” I said.

“Oh, I was just checking out the game on that TV over there,” he explained.

“I didn’t even know there was a TV here,” I said.

“Yeah, I wouldn’t go to a bar without a TV,” he said. “It would be too boring.”

5 thoughts on “Talking to brick wall, or a flat screen

  1. If it makes you feel any better, Joe is not much of a conversationalist at bars either. I have to really poke and prod stuff out of him- ESPECIALLY if he can see a tv from where we’re sitting. The best thing to do is to find TWO tvs and sit where each of you can see a tv. It’s only fair. I think the Public House has tvs at their booths now. I’m just sayin’…

  2. Brilliant blog – very funny. I have to say that I find it immensely distracting being in a bar or restaurant and having televisions in the background. I went out to dinner with a friend the other day and my eyes kept wandering off. Information overload! So, I’ve learned not to go anywhere with tv screens when on a date. Or take blinkers with me…. 😉

  3. Pingback: SDGoldilocks « Speed Dating Girl

Leave a Reply

