My new go-to question

Wow. Thanks to your many fascinating questions, I should never have to have another boring conversation. I wish that I could give all of you an awesome prize. And that I could take all of you speed dating with me. Although,  based on the tone of some of the contest entries, I think a couple of you super-speedy daters would be hustling off to the bathroom for a quickie with your first date. Note: I said I was looking for questions that would help me get to know a guy in a few minutes, not get to do him.

I’m tempted to list all the submissions, but that could lead to second-guessing of my choice. The winning question might not be the most revealing of a person’s personality or the best predictor of compatibility, but I really liked it for its sheer wackiness. And for the accompanying explanation– it’s good to know that I’m not the only one out there insanely over-analyzing my conversations. So, without further ado, the winner:

You have to choose between two equally trained servants. One is a monkey, one is a robot, which would you choose and why?

I’ve asked this one to a lot of people and I typically get three types of responses. The people who pick monkey do so because well, let’s face it, monkeys are cool. These are typically the same types of people who have/like pets. And typically enjoy life. The robot people do so because they “don’t want to deal with monkey poop” or don’t want to get too involved with another being. I’ve had a few who will go with the robot because they think it’s unethical to have another living being as a “servant” – those are very few. And finally, there are those who want it all and go with a “robot monkey”- they want it all or can’t make a decision.

Oh, and just for the record, I’m a monkey person. Why? Because monkeys are cool.

I wish, Megan Morr and Jenny Cook (apparently it was a team effort), that I could offer you a monkey servant as your prize. Instead, you’ll have to settle for a super cool SDG t-shirt.

2 thoughts on “My new go-to question

  1. Ha! I had no idea Megan did this! Alas, the monkey robot question is my hobby. I had crazy fun speed dating with this question and still have the responses somewhere. It was a hit! Now I am no engaged to a monkey and the fun (with speed dating) ends. I am glad the question will live on!

    • Hey Jenny, I would love to see those responses! If you find them and pass them along, I’ll totally send you your own prize, instead of making you share with Megan.

Leave a Reply

