Don’t say that #7 1/2

I, like many women, am interested in shoes. But I had never really thought of them as a major part of dating life until a friend of mine went out with a guy we’ll call Señor Shoe.

It all started with a hurricane. My friend and the Señor met online and exchanged some texts before arranging a date. She told him about how she was having some friends over to spend the hurricane at her house, and he wrote back something about how he was picturing her sitting on the couch wearing galoshes.

A little weird, but not rule-him-out crazy, right? Then, when they were scheduling their date, he brought up his preference that she not wear heels, since she’s about his height. A lot of not-so-tall guys probably feel that way, but most of them wait at least until after they’ve met you to bring it up.

So my friend obligingly dressed for their first date in the flattest shoes she owns. Then, just before she left her house, she got a text from Señor…INQUIRING ABOUT HER FOOTWEAR!

She reassured him that she was wearing flipflops instead of heels. And I’ll let her tell you the rest of the story.

“He said he wasn’t a fan of flipflops, and when I met him it came up again and I asked if he didn’t like them on anyone, or just on himself, and basically, yes, he doesn’t like them on anyone except at the beach. In my defense, my flip flips are cute!”

No, I’m willing to go a lot farther in your defense, anonymous friend, and hereby declare a new “Don’t say that” in honor of your willingness to sit through a whole date with this weirdo. Next time a guy asks, “What shoes are you wearing?” put on your sneakers and run!

2 thoughts on “Don’t say that #7 1/2

  1. I think I’ve dated this guy…seriously, THIS GUY. I love wearing heels and he was so short, so I had to wear flats. And he also told me that he dislikes flip-flops. He is also very into fashion, yet claims he’s not gay.

Leave a Reply

